Burnt: A Film Review

If you have come here expecting a proper film review then you are going to be very disappointed. Very, very disappointed. Really, I’ve just found a new way to talk about my love for food and, even more so, my love for Bradley Cooper.

So, let’s start with the basics. ‘Burnt’ stars Bradley Cooper as Adam Jones, a troubled chef that hit the big time in Paris but ruined his life with drink and drugs. He moves to London to open up a new restaurant in search of the elusive 3 Michelin stars and hires Sienna Miller to help. Even after watching the film I don’t know what her character’s name was so will refer to her as Sienna Miller. In a nutshell, that’s the story. Obviously they fall in love after some initial plate smashing temper tantrums and I presume Adam gets his 3 stars. It’s not particularly clear when you watch the film but he definitely smiles at the end, actually the only time in the film, so we can safely assume it was good news.

The script, acting and plot were, in a word, dreadful. Some of the dialogue left Tyler and I looking at each other in amazement. I can only compare it to a primary school play. I usually really rate Bradley Cooper as an actor but his Gordon Ramsay style outbursts just didn’t ring true, neither did his blossoming love affair with Sienna. And all she did was cook fish. I did make it through to the end though, here’s how.

Reason One: The food shots were beautiful. I really enjoyed watching the parts of the film where dishes were being created and the camera work with these was really nice. It’s a shame there wasn’t a little more of these to be honest but then I guess I can always watch the Food Network and not have to sit through a terrible dialogue.

Reason Two: Bradley Cooper. Did you realise how blue his eyes are? I didn’t. His chef whites really made his eyes sparkle and I fell in love with him even more. And now I know he can cook, I’m besotted. Yes, yes I know it was only a character but leave me be ok.

Reason Three: Just Bradley Cooper again really. He has really nice arms, have you noticed?

If you are truly stuck for something to watch and you like food and fancy either Bradley Cooper or Sienna Miller then you can maybe try watching this film. But, if you’ve recently painted a wall and are still waiting for that to dry you could probably just keep an eye on that instead.

burnt.jpg

Picture courtesy of IMDB.

 

3 thoughts on “Burnt: A Film Review

  1. Hi Tania,

    I’ve been keeping up with your posts and you cook so well! I can tell there is a lot of hard work and effort that goes into your blog and your food looks SO delicious! Congrats on having an awesome blog!!!

    Shivani On Fri, Aug 12, 2016 at 12:07 PM thegammonkitchen wrote:

    > Tania Adrianne Gammon posted: “If you have come here expecting a proper > film review then you are going to be very disappointed. Very, very > disappointed. Really, I’ve just found a new way to talk about my love for > food and, even more so, my love for Bradley Cooper. So, let’s start with” >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

