Recipe: King Prawn Linguine

I have a vivid memory of eating a dish similar to this in Zizzis once when out with friends. It was a lovely summery evening and I was enjoying a catch up with two friends I hadn’t seen for a long while and decided to order outside of my comfort zone. This was a few years ago when I was still a little on the fussy side and had only just started to venture into the unknown world of fish and seafood. I’ve still only dipped my toe in but I do enjoy a good prawn dish. The king prawn linguine I had at Zizzi was rich, flavourful and a little spicy and it was a really memorable dinner, surprising as it was only in a chain restaurant. I’ve wanted to recreate this dish for a long time and think I’ve pretty much nailed it. Though I do say so myself.

Serves 2

What you need:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp fennel seeds
  • 1/2 a fresh red chilli, de-seeded and finely chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 400g tin chopped tomatoes
  • 1/2 tsp herbes de provence
  • 180g cooked and peeled king prawns
  • 200g linguine

What you do:

  1. This is a really quick recipe so get everything out and ready to go. Start by heating the olive oil in a pan with the fennel seeds, chilli and garlic. Sizzle away for a minute or so then pop in the tin of tomatoes and the herbes de provence (or any other mixed herbs) with some salt and pepper and let this cook for around 10 minutes until it has thickened and the sauce is nice and rich.
  2. Whilst the sauce is blipping away, cook the linguine according to the packet instructions and reserve a small cupful of the cooking liquid.
  3. At the end of the cooking time, add the prawns to the tomato sauce and stir gently to heat them through. Drain the pasta and add it to the prawns and tomatoes along with the reserved cooking liquid. Stir until well combined then serve in big deep bowls, ready to dive in.

 

20160626_195254.jpg

NERDY TIP: Using the pasta cooking liquid in a sauce helps the sauce stick to the pasta due to the starch that has released into the water. It’s a good one to remember for pretty much all pasta dishes.

I really enjoy this dish, it’s super quick, really easy and relies on a lot of things you probably already have in the cupboard. It’s lovely with a crisp green salad and some garlic bread, because, let’s face it, who can eat pasta without garlic bread? Not me.

4 thoughts on “Recipe: King Prawn Linguine

Leave a Reply

