What I Ate In A Day #9

Welcome to the great British Summer! What happened to the bright, sunny days and long, balmy nights of my childhood where I would be playing with the hosepipe from dawn till dusk and only stopping for some al fresco feasts? Will we ever experience the sun on our shoulders again or were those couple of days last month the start and end of our summer season? Lest we forget.

Despite the downpours and plunging temperatures I refuse to go back to slow cooked stews and porridge. I refuse I tell you! This particularly wet day started with some fruit compote made with a chopped peach and a large handful of frozen summer berries, topped with Greek yogurt and some homemade sultana and almond granola. You can find the recipe for that here. It’s super easy, tasty and great to have on hand for a quick, filling breakfast. As usual on a workday most of my food was eaten out of plastic containers ‘al desko’.

20160531_084152.jpg

This surprisingly got me through until lunch, where I chowed down on some potato salad. To make this you just boil some Jersey Royals or other salad potatoes then drain and cool. Once cooled, combine the potatoes with some chopped ham, tomatoes, gherkins, shredded spinach and salt and pepper. Mix through some extra virgin olive oil, lemon juice and a little mayonnaise until well coated then box up and leave in the fridge until you’re ready to eat. It was pretty good.

20160531_125318.jpg

I had a banana at lunch too. Boring but true. It wasn’t the nicest banana. Shame.

20160531_130200.jpg

Then this angelic little voice from the other end of the office said the words that everyone likes to hear on a gloomy afternoon: “does anybody want anything from the shop?” “YES!” I shouted, as if I had just been offered a date with Jason Statham. I put in my order for a bar of Galaxy and 5 minutes later was greeted with this baby. My naughty colleague had bought me the big one as I ‘looked a bit stressed’. I vowed to only eat half. I failed.

20160531_133749.jpg

We went food shopping after work so needed something quick and easy for dinner. Cue the quiche. No, its certainly not homemade, I mean who has time to make quiche from scratch? It was lovely though and I had it with another helping of salad potatoes with butter and cheddar cheese melted on them plus some tomatoes marinated in extra virgin olive oil, balsamic vinegar and a pinch of smoked sea salt. Simple but delicious.

20160531_200154.jpg

In keeping with my ‘screw the weather it IS summer’ theme, I had my first strawberries from Kent. They were absolutely amazing and didn’t even need to be dunked in Nutella.

20160531_191620.jpg

This weather might be rubbish but it has reminded me of one thing: IT’S NEARLY CHRISTMAS!!!

5 thoughts on “What I Ate In A Day #9

Leave a Reply

