What’s In My Fridge?

Some people are just plain nosey and want to know the ins and outs of other people’s lives, including what they ate for breakfast, lunch and dinner and even what’s lurking in the corners of their fridge. I am one of those people, and proudly so. If you too are one of those weirdos, read on with great pleasure then head over to YouTube where you can even watch people giving you fridge tours! If you are of the more ‘normal’ variety, perhaps this post isn’t for you, but you can check out some of my lovely recipes while you’re here!

So, not gonna lie to you, I cleared my fridge out before this post. Indeed, it was the clearing out of my fridge that inspired me to let you in. I do try to keep it clean and organised as it helps me make sure I’m eating the food within and not wasting stuff, but as with most things in life that require a bit of time and effort, I do sometimes let standards slip. An hour before these photos were taken there was a cucumber hiding in my salad drawer that was more liquid than solid and only held together by the wrapper. Anyway, my lovely Smeg fridge is really roomy and has loads of compartments in the door which is great for keeping things handy. There’s a small freezer section but we don’t use it and have a separate freezer next-door to the fridge. So here’s what’s in my fridge at the moment.

20160326_171627.jpg20160326_171644.jpg20160326_171654.jpg

In the door:

20160326_171731.jpg

20160326_171832.jpg

20160326_171718.jpg

  • Eggs
  • Garlic
  • Unsalted butter
  • Anchor spreadable
  • Milk
  • Cheddar cheese
  • Feta cheese
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Dark chocolate
  • A McVities Gold bar
  • Lemon oil
  • Squirty cream
  • Coconut milk
  • Apple and Rhubarb juice (so good!)
  • Innocent smoothie (not mine, waste of money in my opinion as I make my own!)
  • Apple juice
  • Water
  • Tomato Puree
  • Garlic in a jar
  • Ginger in a jar
  • Chillies in a jar

I wouldn’t cope without those four holy grail ingredients in the bottom of the door. Jars of garlic, ginger and chilli are absolute lifesavers and I use at least one of them every single day. Tomato puree too is an easy way of adding flavour to dishes and I always make sure I have it to hand. My cheese stash is surprisingly small at the moment. I always have cheddar and parmesan but also like to have other cheeses available as quite frankly I just love cheese. Admittedly, I did have to throw away some mozzarella and some kind of blue cheese (or maybe it wasn’t always blue) because they had gone way out of date.

Top Shelf (jars and whatnot):

20160326_171703.jpg

  • Salted caramel spread (AH-MAY-ZING)
  • Morello cherry jam
  • Orange marmalade
  • Strawberry conserve
  • Cranberry and port sauce
  • Wholegrain mustard
  • English mustard
  • Red onion marmalade
  • Mayonnaise (must always be Hellmanns)
  • Horseradish sauce
  • Preserved lemons
  • Baby gherkins
  • Crinkle cut gherkins
  • Jalapenos
  • Salad Creme (Heinz, always)
  • Flaming Cajun sauce

I don’t think I’ve told you about my mustard obsession. I absolutely love it, all kinds. Whenever I go anywhere that makes different kinds of mustards (you know, farm shops etc) I have to buy one. The wholegrain mustard I have at the moment was picked up on a recent visit to Norfolk and is made with some Norfolk beer. It’s really good. I’ve just run out of Dijon mustard so will be replacing that right away. I like to have lots of jarred condiments as they are a great way to add flavour to dishes, like preserved lemons with roast chicken or horseradish sauce in a beef casserole.

Second Shelf:

20160326_171824.jpg

  • Nando’s peri peri sauce
  • Pizza Express light house dressing (the only bought salad dressing I like)
  • Roasted red peppers
  • White wine (only in there as I was cooking with it)
  • Beer (not mine)
  • Activa yogurts
  • Fat free natural yogurt

I urge you to always have a jar of roasted red peppers on hand, they’re so delicious and much easier than having to char and skin your own peppers. I use them a lot. They, along with the salad dressing and peri peri sauce, really belong on the top shelf in terms of category but are annoyingly too tall to fit.

Third Shelf (meat, mostly):

20160326_171909.jpg

  • Chicken breasts
  • Chorizo style sausages (literally the only sausages I will eat)
  • Lamb shoulder
  • Streaky smoked bacon
  • Ham
  • Some leftover baked beans

Granted, my meat shelf is a bit ‘red-meat heavy’. Soz. It was full of fish but I used that in my aforementioned fish pie recipe. We freeze some of our meat and fish every week too so that we don’t have to rush to use it. The lamb we have now is for a roast dinner, with the leftovers to be used in burritos (excited much) and the chicken breasts will cover two dinners. I don’t eat ham as a rule, that’s Tyler’s, but the bacon is a joint passion. A fridge without bacon is no fridge of mine.

Fruit and Veg Drawers:

20160326_171752.jpg20160326_171805.jpg20160326_171816.jpg

  • Kale
  • Spinach
  • Mixed leaves
  • Pointed cabbage
  • Spring onions
  • Red peppers
  • Green pepper
  • Cucumber
  • Tomatoes
  • Potatoes
  • New potatoes
  • Red onions
  • Avocado
  • Carrots
  • Parsley
  • Apples
  • Pears
  • Blueberries

I love vegetables so always make sure I have a good stash ready to cook with or have as a salad. What we have in the fridge will of course depend on what we are planning to cook, but I always have loads of onions (red, please), tomatoes and some kind of green veg. Our freezer always contains peas, sweetcorn and spinach and currently also has some cauliflower in there. I like to have apples and pears as I use them in my smoothies along with spinach, which I always use frozen and sometimes avocado too, but don’t tend to snack on too much fruit unless it’s the height of summer when strawberries and peaches are at their best. We do have an obscene amount of bananas resting in our fruit bowl at the moment though, some of them destined to become banana bread.

And that folks, is my fridge. On any other given day you will normally find some lemons and limes in there too but I had just used the last of them up. I do always have bottles of lemon and lime juice in my cupboard too for emergencies, not sure if that’s frowned upon or not? Maybe I will give you a tour of my cupboards next!

I would love to know what you think of my fridge contents – is there anything I need to add or takeaway? Leave me a comment!

5 thoughts on “What’s In My Fridge?

  1. Hi Tania I’m absolutely loving your SMEG fridge and am so jealous!!!!! A lovely assortment of foods in there as a good basis for all the lovely meals you cook! Although I am replying to this in bed I now feel the need to go and clean my fridge lol xxxx

    Like

    1. lol Jane, I promise its not always that tidy! I was embarrassed at the lack of food in my fridge, I realised when I was writing the post that I keep most of the exciting stuff in my cupboards. Might post that next! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

