Recipe: Chocolate Nest Cakes

Health freaks, turn away now! What is the point of life if we can’t over indulge in a little chocolate from time to time? By a little chocolate I mean a LOT of chocolate. #sorrynotsorry.

I loved Rice Krispie cakes as a kid and to be honest I still do now. I’ve never been a fan of the corn flake version though, strange huh? I thought about making these a little more grown up and considered adding some salted caramel sauce but in the end went for the nostalgic original, with the addition of some Mini Eggs, not just to add on a few extra calories but to celebrate the fact that it’s almost Easter. If you have some small people that need entertaining over the Easter break then these would be fun to make, but even if you’re child free make them anyway as they’re yummy.

Makes 9

What you need:

  • 400g milk chocolate
  • 30g unsalted butter
  • 1 tbsp golden syrup
  • 100g Rice Krispies or similar
  • 90g pack of Mini Eggs

What you do:

  1. Gently melt together the chocolate, butter and golden syrup until you have a combined liquid mixture. I find the microwave best for this, just be careful not to over-heat and stir every 15-30 seconds. Use whatever chocolate you like the taste of. If you want to splurge on a bar of Valrhona then be my guest, I used Dairy Milk.
  2. Now add the Rice Krispies to the melted chocolate and stir well to combine. Use a dessert spoon to drop mounds of the mixture onto a baking tray lined with greaseproof paper and use two teaspoons to mould the mounds into rough nest shapes.
  3. Your nests are going to need eggs to look authentic, so decorate each one with three Mini Eggs. I found my 90g packet had exactly the right amount to have three eggs on each of my 9 nests, which worked wonders for my mild OCD. I was left with some mixture in my bowl and you probably will be too so you can either make your nests bigger, make more and buy further Mini Eggs (or leave them out for sadly true to life empty nests) or do like I did and eat the leftovers straight from the bowl. Your finished nests need to go into the fridge for at least an hour to set then you can enjoy.

20160309_133022.jpg20160309_133057.jpg20160309_133114.jpg

Is that not just the essence of Spring right there!?

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Chocolate Nest Cakes

Leave a Reply

