Cookbook Review: Deliciously Ella Every Day

Ella Woodward’s debut cookbook, simply titled Deliciously Ella, was Amazon’s best selling cookbook of 2015. Look at me being all factual! Last month, Ella released the follow up book, Deliciously Ella Every Day. Both books now sit very happily together on my overstocked bookshelf in my ‘good for you’ section.

20160212_090056.jpg

I was shamefully late to the Deliciously Ella party and only bought the first book at the very end of last year but it’s already one of my most used cookbooks and I love making recipes from it. It was only fair that I got the new book too so ordered it ready for release date and was super excited when it arrived. It doesn’t disappoint.

What I love about both books, other than the lovely photos of Ella and her dog, is that they don’t intimidate me. I find some books in the same genre really unnerving, mentioning no names *cough-Hemsley Hemsley-cough*. I don’t want to feel like I’m being lectured and I don’t want to feel inferior for not having a chlorine filter on my shower or not knowing what the hell amaranth is. I still have no idea by the way. Ella manages to completely simplify her recipes so that they are relatable, easy to follow and not in any way intimidating. Yes, the ingredients may seem a little expensive and you might not be able to pick them up in your local corner shop, but most of the recipes only rely on a few elements and quite often the prep time is so quick and simple that it makes up for a few extra pounds spent in the supermarket. All of the recipes are well thought out, well written and accompanied by gorgeous photography.

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

Although my diet is completely different to Ella’s (she is a dairy free, gluten free vegan, whereas I consider chocolate, burgers and pizza the three main food groups) I really enjoy the recipes. In reality, I love all food and enjoy healthy recipes as much as I do takeaways and these books have completely opened my eyes to the amazing food you can create from just really good produce. I will never be a dairy free, gluten free vegan (1. steak 2. cheese 3. bacon) but I can still enjoy these great recipes safe in the knowledge that Ella won’t judge me for that.

There’s so many dishes that I still want to try from this book and I’m excited to work my way through it. The biggest success I have had so far is the Spiced Sweet Potato Stew. It’s basically just sweet potatoes and a red pepper cooked down in a spiced tomato sauce with beans and spinach added in at the end of the cooking time. Obviously it’s insanely good for you but more importantly it is absolutely delicious. I made a big batch on a Sunday night and we had it for dinner in the week plus lunches for a couple of days too with some brown rice. It really filled me up and was a bit different to my normal lunches.

20160124_162624.jpg

The Warming Pesto Butter Beans were good too. These are butter beans and spinach cooked in some lemon spiked pesto with pomegranate seeds thrown on top. I am so into pomegranate lately and I loved the little bursts of juiciness against the dry beans. Again this made a lovely lunch and was something completely different to anything I had made before. The picture below shows the butter beans with some tomato rice and some caramelised onion hummus with a sprinkling of feta cheese.

IMG_1581.jpg

I’ve previously gushed about the Raw Brownies from Ella’s first book and have found a similar recipe in the second one. The Fizzy Truffles are so good; really nutty and chocolatey and a perfect afternoon pick-me-up. I didn’t fancy the ‘fizzy’ element so skipped the baobab powder as per Ella’s tweaking suggestion and they turned out great. Like the brownies from book one, these are a work of moments and just rely on a food processor to do all the work.

20160211_101738.jpg

I already had a lot of the ingredients hanging around for the Warming Winter Bowls so we made these for dinner on a cold and windy night. This was my least favourite of all the Deliciously Ella recipes I have made so far. It wasn’t bad, but I wouldn’t necessarily make it again as it just didn’t suit my tastes.

20160210_190913.jpg

I’m super excited to try more recipes from the book. I’ve got the Winter Spiced Pear and Apple Crumble lined up already, it looks like it would be the perfect Sunday pudding and make an awesome Monday breakfast. To be honest, there’s not much in the book I wouldn’t try and knowing all the recipes are so good for you is such a bonus.

So should you buy this book? HELL YEAH! Here’s a link to Amazon so you can buy it right away and a link to the Deliciously Ella blog if you want to learn more about this wonderful woman.

Overall Rating: 9/10

3 thoughts on “Cookbook Review: Deliciously Ella Every Day

  1. The book is so good! My boyfriend and I went vegan from January and both books saved our new exciting life. It never happened to me to actually enjoy cooking so much! Looking forward to the next recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

