What I Ate in a Day #3

Not gonna lie, I ate a whole Domino’s pizza last night. BBQ sauce, with pepperoni, bacon, onions, peppers and mushrooms on one side and ham, pineapple and sweetcorn on the other. Plus some chicken strippers. Probably still one of my 5 a day though right?

So today I should really be good. I’m not a fan of the phrase ‘being good’, not when it comes to food anyway as I don’t like to class any food as bad. But you know what I mean, Dominos Pizza one day, salad the next. Balance and all that jazz. Let’s see how that goes.

I don’t always start my day with a coffee, but when I do I like to make as much mess as possible and use an unnecessary (but super cute) stencil and get chocolate sprinkles everywhere, including the cat’s face. She really should learn to keep out of my way. This morning, a smiley face because I’m happy.

20160123_111348.jpg

I drank my coffee whilst checking emails and what not then had breakfast. Not a great start to the ‘being good’ mantra, a hot cross bun. As soon as Christmas is over it’s obviously Easter and my local shop is fully stocked with Cadbury’s Creme Eggs (yuck) and hot cross buns (yum) so you can’t blame me for a packet accidentally falling into my basket. I split it, toasted it, then glued it back together with loads of butter, enough so that it all dripped over my plate as a bit into it. Don’t worry, I mopped it back up. Waste not want not my mum would say.

20160123_113707.jpg

After breakfast I did some housework and pottered around a bit then had lunch. It’s really only been an hour and a half since breakfast but I got up late and need to fit in as much food as I can. Lunch was leftovers from the day before so was ready to shovel into my face within a couple of minutes. I had brown rice which had been cooked with garlic and tomato puree, some butter beans with pesto, spinach and pomegranate and some caramelised onion hummus, sprinkled with a tiny bit of feta cheese. Very nice it was too.

20160123_134022.jpg

I spent my afternoon going for a brisk walk and menu planning for the week ahead. I nibbled on a handful of maple cinnamon pecans whilst looking through a few cookbooks.

20160123_150918.jpg

Then I had a nap. The nap was accidental really. I went to check where my cat was, found her asleep on my bed, stroked her then accidentally tripped and fell under the covers. Anyway, I woke up an hour and a half later absolutely starving. We had planned to make something from Jamie Oliver’s Everyday Super Food for dinner so I held out on a snack and got on with making dinner instead. We had the Bombay Chicken and Cauliflower with rice, spinach and poppadums. It was amazing! The recipe is on his website so I have linked it here. I would really recommend it. It was quick and easy to make, full of flavour as well as goodness and was also something a bit different. The poppadums that you cook from home in the microwave were delicious and low calorie too.

20160124_130318.jpg

20160123_190602.jpg

Later in the evening we went to the cinema to watch The Revenant. I’m not going to turn this into a film review but will summarise my thoughts here:

  1. Like most films that are made to receive Oscar nominations, it was too long and could have been condensed into half the time.
  2. Leo Di Cap (always call him that) put in a great performance as always but his hair was always all over his face and I really wanted to reach into the screen and put it into a man bun for him. I think he would look hot this way too.
  3. It made me feel cold.
  4. Tom Hardy had a bald patch and his beard constantly had bits of food and what not in it, so he wasn’t his usual hot self.
  5. The cinematography was very good.
  6. I was convinced the bear was going to rape Leo.
  7. Leo’s look right into the camera at the end had nothing to do with the film. It was him staring right into the eye’s of the Oscar Committee and silently screaming ‘was this enough for you? huh? Is this what you wanted?!?’ Just give it to him already.

Back to food, I had a diet coke and £8.00 worth of pic ‘n’ mix, which I sort of shared. Sour cherries are my favourite. I do have some decorum so decided not to take a picture in the cinema, you will have to use your imagination to envisage what £8.00 worth of pic ‘n’ mix looks like. I will give you a clue, it’s about 4 sweets because cinemas are under the impression that sweets are the price equivalent of gold.

A fairly balanced day I think. Not the best, but I did resist a sausage roll that Tyler bought for me. Small victory, I’ll take that.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

