What I Ate In A Day #2

From breakfast through to an evening snack, this is what I ate on a cold day, which was an early shift at work followed by a chilled evening at home on my own. I had a fairly interesting food day and kept most of it pretty healthy, not because I’m on any kind of diet plan, I’m just really into this kind of food at the moment and owe a lot of the current interest to Ella Woodward, or Deliciously Ella as she goes by on Instagram and whatnot. If you haven’t heard of her (have you been hiding under a rock for the past year?) then you should check her out. I’m going to be talking more about her and her book another time so I won’t go into it right now but you should know that she’s pretty awesome.

Breakfast – Deliciously Ella Recipe One. This is the mint chocolate milkshake from her book, which I have been dying to make. I’m not gonna lie, it wasn’t as epic as I was expecting it to be, but I had such high expectations set from the raw brownies I made (more on those later) that I couldn’t help but feel a little deflated by this milkshake. I’m not saying it isn’t good, it is. It’s really good. But it does still taste of banana and dates when I guess I was expecting, by some miracle, for it to taste like a Frijj milkshake. Obviously that was never going to happen as they are a concoction of sugar and fat, whereas my version here contained banana, avocado, dates, raw cacao powder, mint and coconut milk, so really healthy and nourishing. It gave me loads of energy and kept me bright and bushy tailed till lunch, but it’s really not the most photogenic of breakfasts so apologies for that.

20160112_075435.JPG

Lunch – A rice bowl filled with the yummiest of things. The base for this was made with brown rice and black beans which I had cooked with garlic, chilli, tomato puree and cumin. I then topped it with some wilted kale and pomegranate salad (Deliciously Ella Recipe Two), red pepper hummus (Deliciously Ella Recipe Three), some slices of tomato, smashed avocado and feta cheese. There are no words to describe how good this is. You can see my Rice Bowl recipe post for more inspiration.

20160112_121027.JPG

PM Snack – Deliciously Ella Recipe Four – Raw Brownies. I ate two of these as they are just so good, and what’s even better is that I don’t need to feel guilty about it or condemn myself to half an hour on the exercise bike as a punishment. These actually deserve their own blog post so I will save myself for now and tease you with this picture. Yum!

20160112_122610.JPG

Dinner – Pasta with Peas, Pancetta and Ricotta. It was just me eating tonight and I really wanted some warming, hearty pasta. Pasta is one of my favourite foods. When it’s dark and miserable outside, I love to get the windows all steamed up with something hot going on in the kitchen. Get your minds out of the gutters, I am of course talking about cooking pasta. It makes such a great basis for a quick and easy dinner. For this, I just cooked some wholewheat penne and some peas in salted, boiling water. In another pan, I fried off cubes of pancetta with some minced garlic and when everything was cooked I tipped the pasta and peas into the pancetta and garlic and added a bit of crème fraiche and some ricotta, seasoned well, stirred a lot, then tipped it into a waiting bowl and ate it greedily, alone on the sofa.

20160112_181406.JPG

Evening Snack – Mango. I like to cut the sides of my mango away from the stone and eat the juicy, golden flesh with a teaspoon. There’s something about the exotic taste of mango that makes me forget it’s a dreary winter’s night in Kent and I can almost feel the tropical sun on my skin and hear waves crashing on pale sands. I like to treasure such moments and using a little spoon to eat the mango extends the whole lovely process so I can go to bed feeling blissfully content. In other news, hands up who likes my super tacky leopard print knife?

20160112_191758.JPG

What a nice day of eating I have had. *insert happy little sleepy face here*

Leave a Reply

