Recipe: Blueberry Breakfast Pancakes

Pancakes: sweet little pockets of pure pleasure. A Sunday morning needs little else than a plate of these, eaten in your pyjamas with your cat snuggled up at your side. Whipping them up is a work of moments and before I know it my kitchen is alive with warm smells of batter and I can hear the delicate sizzle of the pancakes as they turn crisp at their edges. The maple syrup oozes like molten gold through the little cakes and collects in pools ready for me to dive into. Blueberries burst excitedly under the force of my fork and their sweet purple juice splashes across the plate like paint across a canvas. It also splashes on my pyjama top, leaving it’s mark of joy to remind me of my amazing breakfast, and giving me a reason to actually get dressed.

I have been experimenting with pancake recipes for a while to find the perfect balance between a luxurious treat and a healthy, balanced breakfast.  I think I have now found it. These are light, fluffy and flavoursome but have none of the guilt you may find with regular pancakes. Not that I ever feel guilty for eating anything though, food is there to be enjoyed and celebrated! But we all need to incorporate some of the good stuff from time to time and these are the perfect start to any day.

I use American cup measures to make these. If you want to re-create the recipe and don’t have proper measuring cups, then use a standard sized coffee mug.

Makes 12

What you need:

  • 1/2 cup of wholemeal self raising flour
  • 1/2 cup of plain white flour
  • Pinch of cinnamon
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup of coconut milk (or you could use regular, almond or soya milk)
  • A handful of blueberries
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • Maple syrup, to serve

What you do:

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together both flours with the cinnamon to combine. I find this combination of flour makes for light and fluffy pancakes that have a slight nutty taste and some added goodness from the wholemeal.
  2. Add in the egg and milk and whisk until smooth then pour into a jug to make it easier to make the pancakes.
  3. In a frying pan, heat the coconut oil over a medium heat and once warm add dollops of the pancake mixture, leaving space between each one. The frying pan I use allows me to make three pancakes at a time which is a perfect serving size for one. Now add a few blueberries to each pancake and once bubbles form and pop on the surface, carefully flip each one over and cook for about two minutes on the other side.
  4. I serve my pancakes with a generous drizzle of maple syrup and some fat free Greek yogurt, the proper stuff that is as indulgent as clotted cream but with none of the consequences.

If you wanted to make further batches of pancakes, add a little more coconut oil to the pan each time and use as many blueberries as you need. Any leftover mixture will keep in the fridge for a day but the pancakes are never quite as light as the first morning, in my experience anyway.

20160108_111108.JPG

20160108_111101.JPG

20160108_111051.JPG

Washing Up Score: 3/10 – OK so there’s more washing up than a bowl of Coco Pops, but you get so much more for your efforts and it’s still rather minimal.

Leave a Reply

