What I Ate In A Day #1

If, like me, you are nosey and just love to know what other people are eating, then read on with great pleasure. If you don’t, then I would suggest moving on as the rest of this post basically just tells you what I stuffed my face with in a whole 24 hours.

I absolutely love reading these kinds of blogs, or even better watching videos on YouTube. If you haven’t heard of Niomi Smart, I have linked her blog here, and urgeĀ you check her out as she does great food posts. Her diet is completely different to mine (as in world’s apart) but I find her incredibly inspiring and always vow to eat better when I have finished watching one of her ‘what I eat in a day videos’. It never happens, and I still find myself reaching for the biscuit tin rather than whizzing up a raw cacao and chia seed smoothie, or whatever the latest healthy fad may be. One day perhaps, one day.

So here is everything I ate and drank (apart from water) on a miserable, rainy day spent mostly at home. I get bored with food easily so there is no such thing as a typical day for me, but this was a Sunday meaning no restrictions, hence why it may not be the healthiest of food diaries!

Breakfast – A freshly baked croissant (not by me!) with a hazelnut latte macchiato, which I made in my Nescafe Dolce Gusto coffee machine with some hazelnut syrup from Whittards. These syrups aren’t the best, they are very synthetic in taste and smell. I much prefer the Monin ones and will re-stock once these ones are used up.

20160103_114532.jpg

AM Snack – A green smoothie, recipe here, enjoyed whilst reading Deliciously Ella (I am so late on the bandwagon here and only just got this. So far, I love it!)

20160103_132624.jpg

Lunch – We decided to have our main meal at lunch time and went for a home style Nando’s themed feast. I made halloumi and mushroom burgers which were absolutely delicious. I cooked off some sliced chestnut mushrooms with olive oil, garlic, lemon zest and salt and pepper and piled them into a toasted sesame seed bun which had been spread with mayonnaise that I’d spiked with lemon juice and some medium heat peri-peri sauce then topped with a few salad leaves. I also added a couple of slices of halloumi that had been marinated in olive oil, lemon juice and chilli flakes then grilled. Beyond delicious! We had the burgers with some chips (thank you to my Aunt Bessie), spicy rice (many thanks also to my Uncle Ben) and a few mixed salad leaves. Such a yummy feast!

20160103_153143.JPG

Dessert – I had some leftover lemon pavlova lingering in my fridge that desperately needed using up. You can read more about it here. All you really need to know, however, is that its an absolute dream. I gave myself a pretty generous slice but didn’t quite manage it all. Shock horror!

20160103_154839.JPG

PM Snack – Tea (yes, my tea really is only one shade darker than my white mug – which has the cutest image of a little kitty on it!) and two chocolate biscuits. Naughty but nice.

20160103_183744.JPG

Dinner (of sorts) – Due to having my main meal at lunchtime, I only needed something small so went for crackers with butter, cave aged cheddar cheese and red onion marmalade.

20160103_211807.JPG

Evening Snack – This wasn’t the healthiest of food days so I added a couple of clementines for a last bit of goodness before bed. Not that clementines can override cheese and croissants, my main two food groups at the moment!

20160103_212915.JPG

And there you have it folks, a day in the life of my stomach.

2 thoughts on “What I Ate In A Day #1

Leave a Reply

