Recipe: New Year Green Smoothie

It’s January. We are all suffering from the Christmas hangover, and I’m not talking about the alcohol induced kind of hangover, although I did have my fair share of those over the past couple of weeks. I’m talking about the festive food that is loitering around my house. My fridge bursts with cheese and paté, I have more jars of pickles than I could ever know what to do with and my goodie stash is spilling out of its own special cupboard. Of course there is the obligatory tin of sweets still circulating around the office too, winking at me every time I pass it. Every where I turn I am confronted with devilish reminders of a great (and greedy) Christmas. Now, I’m not one to be wasteful, so believe me when I say that these leftover treats will get eaten, but I do feel like I need a little bit of a breather. Here’s where I introduce my digestive system to the delights of the green smoothie.

I love green smoothies and make them quite often, using a variety of fruit and vegetables. Recently I have discovered a combination that is so delicious, super good for you and easy to drink. I use apple juice as the liquid in my smoothie as I like the sweetness, but you can use water, coconut water or any other form of liquid if you wanted to reduce the sugar count. A note on spinach: I always keep a bag of frozen spinach in my freezer for use in smoothies as it means I have it readily available whenever I need it and don’t need to add ice. Bonus.

Serves 1

What you need:

  • 10 green grapes
  • 1 apple, peeled and chopped
  • 1/2 an avocado, peeled and chopped
  • 1 ball of frozen spinach (or a large handful of fresh leaves and a few ice cubes)
  • Juice of half a lime
  • 150ml apple juice or other liquid

What you do:

  • Put everything into a blender and blend until smooth, normally 20-30 seconds. Serve immediately.

20160103_132519 (1).jpg

20160103_132546.JPG

I enjoy this for breakfast or whenever I feel the need for an intense burst of goodness.

Washing Up Score: 4/10 – there may not be a lot of washing up but getting your hand in those blender cups is a real first world struggle.

2 thoughts on “Recipe: New Year Green Smoothie

Leave a Reply

